Why cite?
When you want to use someone else's idea in your work you HAVE to be honest about where the idea came from.
Just as you wouldn't want someone taking credit for your work or ideas, you have to give others credit for theirs. Additionally, all schools take matters of academic honest and plagiarism VERY seriously and not citing your sources can result in disciplinary actions.
When to cite?
What are style guides?
What is my cover page supposed to look like for this essay? How do I cite a website as a source of information for this sociology paper? How do I write a bibliography for a paper about the American Revolution? Should I put this book title in italics if I mention it in a paragraph? Or is it capitalized? Where and how to do I mention where I got this fact in this paper, in that sentence or at the end of the paper? Does that change depending on whether it's a journal article or a video?
You aren't expected to figure all of this out on your own. Academics across many areas of study have developed a set of guidelines over many years that will tell you exact how to format your paper, how to cite your sources, and how to list your sources at the end of your paper.
This part of the library guide is going to talk about three of the most commonly used writing styles and where you can find them to get the answers to your questions. There are style guides printed in books that are available at the library, but there are also websites that explain all the rules and offer examples for you to follow. We have also included some videos that provide an overview of each style guide.
If you come across a question that you cannot find the answer to, don't hesitate to stop by the library for help!
Citation Styles
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association® by Call Number: 808.06615 P976ISBN: 1433805596Publication Date: 2009-07-15Physical copy located here in the library. This is not the most recent edition of this manual.
- APA Style Guide WebpageSeries of blogs with all the important information on how to cite sources using APA style.
- Purdue University Writing Lab APA StyleGreat resource for quickly answering any questions on how to format and cite using this style.
- Excelsior University Online Writing Lab APA StyleAn additional resource for APA citation style with tips and advice specific to education level.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Call Number: 808.02 G437ISBN: 0873525655Publication Date: 1995-05-01Located in the library. This is not the most recent edition of this handbook, but it can still be useful for those who like a physical book to reference.
- MLA Style CenterComprehensive resource for all things related to MLA writing style with a lot of examples for reference.
- Purdue University Writing Lab MLA StyleOnline resource that breaks down all components of this writing style with examples to follow.
- Excelsior University Online Writing Lab MLA StyleAlternative resource for explanation and examples of this writing style.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: 686.224 C532ISBN: 9780226103907Publication Date: 1982-08-01
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineExplains and describes both varieties of this writing style with examples.
- Turabian Manual for Writers for Students and ResearchersExplanation of this style with examples.
- Purdue University Writing Lab Chicago Manual of StyleExplanation of this writing style and it's intended use with examples.
Plagiarism and Copyright
Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines plagiarizing as "to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own or use (another's production) without crediting the source" (Merriam-Webster, 2024). This means that whenever you use a fact or idea you've found in a book, an article, a website, a dictionary, or anywhere else, you have to credit that resource. If you fail to state the author and publication that you used in your writing, then you have plagiarized.
Plagiarizing Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
This institution includes a definition of plagiarism in the student code of conduct:
"The term 'PLAGIARISM' includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. Examples include: the submission of an assignment purporting to be the student's original work which has been wholly or partly created by another person; the presentation as one's own, another person's ideas, organization, or wording without acknowledgment of sources; knowingly permitting one's own work to be submitted by another student as if it were the student's own; and the use of material from the Internet, videos, encyclopedias, books, magazines, student papers, and copyrighted material without indicating where the material was found. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials." (Terra State Community College Student Code of Conduct, 2023).
It also includes plagiarism under the section titled, "Acts of Dishonesty" which result in disciplinary action (Terra State Community College Student Code of Conduct, 2023).
Copyright is, "the exclusive legal right to reproduce, publish, sell, or distribute the matter and form of something (such as a literary, musical, or artistic work)" (Merriam-Webster Dictionary, 2024). This means that if you create something that you want to sell or publish, then no one else has the right to sell or publish it without your permission. It also means that it is illegal, according to federal law, to violate copyright.
Copyright Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
Copyright is also
Citation and Reference Tools/Extensions
- Microsoft Word ReferencesMicrosoft Word has a function that allows a user to enter the information for your citations in a couple of different writing styles. The function allows you to quickly input the in-text citation and use it as many times as you reference it. At the end, it will alphabetize and list your references.
While this took is super helpful, you still have to double check the formatting for each citation. At times, the fields they offer don't match the information you have, and you'll have to look at the style guide to be sure that you're formatting your citations correctly.
ALWAYS DOUBLE CHECK THE FORMATTING, DO NOT TRUST THE PROGRAM TO DO IT ALL FOR YOU!
- Mendeley CiteThis is another application that can be downloaded as an extension in Word to create and organize the resources for your paper or essay. As always, you should always double check to be sure that the information is being formatted correctly for the writing style that you have been instructed to use. Basic use of the application/extension is free but there are packages of upgrades that are available.
- ZoteroThere are also programs that will serve as a digital library of the articles and other items you collect as you build your paper. Using a web browser extension, this service collects and organizes pdf copies and links of articles and can them export both in-text citations and reference lists or bibliographies to your paper with just a few clicks. One benefit is that you can organizes your sources into folders while working on multiple projects, and also keep all your sources for future reference.
This program is free but there are others that are paid.
- Mendeley Resource ManagerThis application is very similar to Zotero in acting as a digital library where you can keep your academic resources and create citations and resource lists for export to your paper. However, it requires additional extension downloads in order to import your research from your browser to the digital library, along with the Microsoft Word extension to export into your paper.